Villains!


I know we all root for the good guy, but have you noticed, its the Villains that have the interesting personalities? In almost every movie that has a villain, the villain is more complex, layered, and interesting… Why is that I wonder? I have to admit, there were even times I rooted for the bad guy (Gargamel anyone?) And as I note below, there is one villain I just LOVE!

Here is my version of a rogues gallery:

Hannibal Lecter
HANNIBAL LECTER

DARTH VADER

Joker

JOKER

EVIL MIDNIGHT BOMBER WHAT BOMBS AT MIDNIGHT

LEX LUTHOR


GREEN GOBLIN

GARGAMEL

FREDDIE KRUGER

Angel Eyes

“ANGEL EYES”

Now, think about their counterparts. Spiderman, Superman, Clarice, Child victims, the Tick, Smurfs…pretty insipid right? Only Clint Eastwood’s “Blondie” and Batman (the Dark Knight) rival these guys for presence, with the former so compelling because of his mystery and the latter because he is just as tortured as the villains he pursues. I think my favorite “human” villain of those listed here would be Angel Eyes, but my very most favorite villain for sheer lunacy is the Evil Midnight Bomber what Bombs at Midnight.

Boom Baby Boom!

~ by irishgrl on August 15, 2008.

One Response to “Villains!”

  1. […] Villains! August 2008 3 […]

Leave a Reply

 
